Samos Island

Samos Island Sights and Activities

Samos Island is located in the East Aegean Sea. Its capital is Samos Town. Samos is a mountainous island and it has two high mountains Ampelos (or Karvounis) and Kerkis.

A large section of the island is covered with exceptional vineyards, from which sweet Muscat wine is made.

The island is divided into 4 municipalities: Vathi, Karlovasi, Pythagorion and Marathokampos. Its capital is Samos Town.

Samos Climate is Mediterranean, with mild winters, and warm dry summers. The island is one of the sunniest places in Europe with more than 3.300 hours of sunshine yearly about 75% of the time.

Samos island is the location of the joint UNESCO World Heritage Sites, the Heraion of Samos and the Pythagoreion which have been included in UNESCO's world heritage list.

In ancient Greece Samos Island was a rich and powerful state. Samos is the birthplace of the Ancient Greek philosopher and mathematician Pythagoras, the philosopher Epicurus, and Aristarchus of Samos, the first known astronomer to propose that the Earth revolves around the sun.